All Cards On The Table

My dream is to play Elphaba in Wicked one day!

My dream is to play Elphaba in Wicked one day!

So here I am, finally being vocal about my fitness and health goals. This last Monday I text my friend Aviry and I said “I think I’m going to try and go to the gym tonight” and that’s how all of this began. All of a sudden she was giving me all this advice on how to eat right and workouts and here I am 3 days later eating clean and working out!

A little about me. For those of you that have known me for awhile know that I have struggled with losing weight pretty much my entire life. I have always been overweight and I can’t remember a time when I wasn’t. I don’t blame anyone for it. Blaming someone doesn’t make me lose weight. If I want to look and feel my best then I have to do something about it.

I have tried so many different diets and I have always felt deprived which is why I always backslide and end up gaining the weight back. Well I am tired of that. I am tired of eating foods that are bad for my body all the time and I AM TIRED OF BEING TIRED.

Performing is something that I love. There is no better feeling than when I am on stage. I can’t describe it, but it’s just magical. Almost six months ago I was in  a production of RENT and it was the first time I was ever in a musical. After performing in RENT I realized that I didn’t want to be a recording artist, I wanted to be on Broadway.

I started feeling like all the odds are stacked against me, because at the time I decided this I had never had a vocal lesson, acting lesson, or dancing lesson. But I didn’t care, I just knew that this was what I wanted and now I had to go after it. Now five months later I have taken voice, acting, and dance lessons. I am slowly becoming a better performer.

Also I should say that when I say I want to be on Broadway, I don’t mean I just want to be in the ensemble, no I want to have lead roles one day. I know that one day I will get there, but it won’t happen over night.

The past few months I have been looking up auditions to attend and most of them I can’t  because I don’t fit the “type”. Which means that my image doesn’t fit the role. It’s really discouraging and I found myself only wanting to audition for ensemble roles because they usually say that they want all “types” of actors.

There I was feeling sorry for myself because I would never get the chance to be a lead in something when really it’s my fault this is not happening.

And now this is where I came up with Fit4Broadway. I have told a few of my friends and family that I have started eating better, but I really want to be held accountable. How do you do that? Well the only obvious choice is to create a blog and an Instagram account to share your goals with anyone who will listen.

I am very excited to share this journey with anyone who wants to follow me on it. I hope it will be entertaining. I am a real person and I will have no problem sharing when I really just want to eat a cookie or skip a workout.

I have some fun activities planned after I reach certain weight loss goals. So stay tuned!!

I will also try my best and keep a diary of my week and share what I eat and what kind of workouts I do.

Here’s to change and making all my dreams come true!

-Brittanie Sheree

P.S. I just wanted to end this first post by saying that I do not hate myself or have any bad thoughts about who I am. Do I want to change some things? Yes, but I am a very happy and confident person. I enjoy life to the fullest and I have wonderful family and friends who support and believe in me.

Posted on November 7, 2013, in Welcome! and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

